Are Coyotes a threat?

Jon Holcombe

Explorer
Dec 1, 2015
Medford
My first post so bear with me. I took this photo (hopefully it will upload) below Friendship last week. After walking back from the bog, just as I reached my car I heard a group of kids, or young hunters, yipping like puppies. The yipping turned to geese flying as they landed on water??, and then I realized it was neither geese or kids but actually yelping from a group of what I can only assume are coyotes. I am primarily a graphic designer with a minor in pine barrens photography (for the past 3 years). I was a poor boy scout and tend to be a bit chicken about these things, so I read up on Eastern Coyote, and discovered a NJ hunter killed a rabid one 7 months ago, but there have only been two recorded deaths. Does anyone carry pepper spray, or a big knife or guns here? Since I am off by myself, often on a narrow bog path, I am wondering if I have anything to worry about (other than chiggers and ticks).
friendship_bog.jpg

Reactions: Gibby

SuperChooch

Explorer
Aug 26, 2011
Hi Jon! Welcome to the forum! You have nothing to worry about. There have been reports of a few attacks, but there have been a lot more reports of shark attacks and lightning strikes. :) You may hear them at night camping or hiking, but will be unlikely to see them, they tend to be very wary of humans. They are however becoming more common and less fearful of humans. I never heard or saw one before when I was younger, but have heard them or have seen tracks with increased frequency in the last 15 years or so. Still nothing at all to be to be worried about, just an interesting curiosity.

My only recommendation would be to keep small dogs on a leash and in your sight at night, as they would be most at risk.

Teegate

Administrator
Site Administrator
Sep 17, 2002
The chances of even seeing one is remote. I would not worry.

GermanG

Piney
Apr 2, 2005
Little Egg Harbor