Batsto and their outhouses

Oct 14, 2009
Little Egg Harbor
I have been visiting Batsto for over 40 years (I was a very young child, mind you) and I was always amazed at the large outhouse that was supposedly used by the mansion workers. It had about 5 regular seats and 2 lower seats (for kids). This outhouse was located right alongside the side of the ice house (it butted right against it) and faced where the chickens and birds were kept. It was one long building and was the length of the side of the ice house.

In all my visits in about the last 10+ years, there is no outhouse building like this. I ask everyone; the rangers, the people in the office, and have even asked members of The Batsto Historical Society whatever happened to it and when and why. No one has a clue about what I am talking about. My family remembers it, so I know I am not imagining it.

Does anyone have any info on it?

Teegate

Administrator
Site Administrator
Sep 17, 2002
I suspect you will find your answer here. There are people here who would know. Lets see what pops up.

Guy

LARGO

Piney
Sep 7, 2005
Pestletown
I suspect you will find your answer here. There are people here who would know. Lets see what pops up.
Guy

Wouldn't Bud be a good try for this?
Not on the forum though.
I can think of a couple other folks, but they's dead now.

g.

turtle

Explorer
Feb 4, 2009
a village...in the pines
I don't know how accurate this answer is BUT....I asked someone who asked someone who is 90% sure they recall that the outhouse in question was INDEED, as you remember near the present day chicken coop that is situated to the north side of the Batsto Mansion. At this time I don't know if there is a photo of the outhouse. I also don't know when it was removed. Perhaps someone else can confirm/elaborate on this info and maybe someone else knows of a photo.
Welcome to the site!

turtle

Kevinhooa

Explorer
Mar 12, 2008
Hammonton, NJ.
www.flickr.com