Fog

glowordz

Explorer
Jan 19, 2009
SC
www.gloriarepp.com
Here's a question -- what's it like, walking a sand road in the fog (fairly heavy fog so the trees are barely visible). Time is evening, winter -- November to February. Location is somewhere between Tabernacle and Carranza Memorial.
I need this description for my book . . . can't remember. Anyone have some words for me? For example, does the sand still glimmer?

ecampbell

Piney
Jan 2, 2003
I'm not good with words but I'll try to convey what I feel.

Just dead quiet except for the occasional sound as water drips off a branch.
You can almost hear the silence, it has a presence.
A sence of being alone, the animals are all bedded down and soon it will be my turn in front of a fire for the night. A nice walk but it's good to be home.

ecampbell

Piney
Jan 2, 2003
I would add, fog is not a visual experience. If I wear glasses the condensation will blind me so I take them off. The heavy air then soaks my eyebrows so I hang my head low. All is a uniform grey with little detail, like viewing through cheese cloth. I feel the trail with my feet and use my ears, but they hear little. A beautifully filmed movie comes to mind, McCabe and Mrs Miller.

Like I said I am not good with words but I hope I have conveyed what I have experienced.

Aaron

Explorer
Jul 29, 2007
the fog was all around us, dense, moist, almost alive. With only a few feet of visibility and my foot steps being muffled by the ever present fog, I feel as though its possible I am alone in the pines, all of natures sounds seem to be strangled by the thickening fog.:ghost:

turtle

Explorer
Feb 4, 2009
a village...in the pines