"Haunted" Carranza Memorial

Barry_Timony

Feb 17, 2016
Forked River
What's up guys? This is my first time actually posting on this forum with a registered account but, I have frequented this site regularly for a long time reading many posts from a variety of different areas. I have been exploring the Pine Barrens, and researching their history extensively for the last year or two and I always find more and more to explore, and more and more to love. Anyway, a couple of my buddies started getting really interested in the Pine Barrens and a lot of the abandoned towns and ruins in the woods and have asked me to lead them on a tour of a couple of key places. I'm thinking I'll take them to Batsto, Harrisville (and the surrounding area of Martha and Calico), Mount Misery Rd. and Brooksbrae during the day, and then wrap up with a nice Sunset watch at Apple Pie Hill. Then, I had a very simple plan. I am going to scare the daylights out of the them. I am thinking the absolute best place to do this would be at the Carranza Memorial during the night. I'm thinking of bringing them out there and telling them it's haunted, then letting their own thoughts make them paranoid as they travel down the abyss which is Carranza Rd. at night (I'll probably come in from the Friendship-Speedwell Road junction too showing them Friendship Ruins, even though it will be night time), but for the grand finale, I am thinking of setting up a little "surprise" for them. My question is, what could I set up or plan potentially the day before that would scare the death out of them without disturbing the ecosystem or disrespecting the structure and it's history? I am thinking I could build a zipline with a stuffed animal that would swing across above them or something crazy to spook them. (I'm a Mechanical Engineering major in College I can build some impressive stuff lol).

woodjin

Piney
Nov 8, 2004
Near Mt. Misery