How to overlay just border info on satelitte imagery

mazzgolf

Sep 17, 2013
Folks: hopefully, someone can help a poor newbie here. Upfront, let me give you my question short and sweet:

In short, for my eTrex20, I want to see satelite imagery with simple WMA border lines drawn to show me where the WMAs are.

Ok, now the gory details:

First, some background. I just bought a Garmin eTrex20. Through tips I found on the 'net (including these forums) I was able to install some nice CustomMaps using Google Earth and some other things. I also am looking at BirdsEye, but not sure yet if I want to get this service

Here's what I want. I am a hunter and I want to make sure when I'm in the woods, I stay within the boundaries of the public hunting WMAs here in NJ. So I want, minimally, an overlay of the WMA boundary lines on my maps. It would be nice to have this together with satelite imagery.

I have maps that NJ DFW provide with the outlines/borders of the WMAs. I used image editing software to create a PNG with only the boundary lines - everything else is transparent background. I then overlaid that on top of Google Earth imagery - awesome! A KMZ with satelite imagery overlaid with outlines of the WMAs! Alas, Garmin's eTrex20 custom map feature doesn't allow for PNG - only JPEG. But JPEG doesn't support transparent backgrounds! So I was forced to do the normal CustomMap thing to get an image of the entire area map with the boundary lines shown. But it got the job done.