Human Land Abuse

bobpbx

Piney
Staff member
Oct 25, 2002
Pines; Bamber area
Jeff,

This is in your neck of the woods. It looks like land that has been severely abused by man. Do you know what went on there? I have not been there, I am only guessing by the colors in the photo.

watermark.php

mudboy dave

Explorer
Oct 15, 2008
atco
opentrailsnj.org
Looks like 4WD vehicle use to me, but I am no expert.

Id agree, even though it doesnt look that appealing to me, looks nothing more than water and sand, maybe at one point it was a desirable 4x4 location. The reason I agree is that on the bottom of the picture there are sure signs of two tracks ruts the width of a truck coming out of a puddle. Where is this located? or would you rather not say.

woodjin

Piney
Nov 8, 2004
Near Mt. Misery
I know exactly what happened there. It is private propety. the person who owns the land allowed a large tire dump there. A few years ago it was torched and burned to ground. The DEP stepped in and removed all the burnt tires. There is still some evidence of tires there and I am not sure the project is completed. The owner is considering building homes on the land or more likely a church for some alternative religion, there are tax adavatages to doing so (the last sentance is hear say). It does get a few quad riders back there, and half of those riders have no problem flying past my house at 1am full throttle during summer vacation (kids). Riding back there is hindered a little by bits of tires all over.

The ATV abuse to the land is insignificant compared to the damage already incurred from the tires/fire.

So there you go, the whole story.

Jeff

mike242424

Explorer
Feb 17, 2007
Tabernacle
Yes they already have a church under a giant tent on the land its right down the street from my house they dumped tires back there up until about 8 years ago. The new owners of it are veruy religious and have already started a church there under a tent

mike242424

Explorer
Feb 17, 2007
Tabernacle