Landscaping with native plants

Medford Piney

Explorer
Feb 25, 2008
Medford
I will be doing (hopefully) some sprucing up of my tiny .11 acres of land (which backs up to 100's of acres of undeveloped woods) this spring/summer/fall. I would prefer to plant species that are native to the area. But I really don't now where to start or where to obtain the plants and trees. Anyone point me in the right direction.

RednekF350

Piney
Feb 20, 2004
Pestletown, N.J.
Call the Pinelands Commission at 609-894-7300.
Ask them about a list of suppliers for native landscape species.
I have been doing Pinelands applications for clients since 1982 and the Commisssion use to maintain a list because their regs require a certain percentage of native landscape species on commercial site plans.
Most people have a difficult time tracking these suppliers.
The Commission use to have a recommendation list too for developing a decent landscape scheme using native species.
Let me know how you make out. Worst case, I can get you a copy of my old list.
Scott

G. Russell Juelg

Explorer
Jul 31, 2006
Burlington County
I will be doing (hopefully) some sprucing up of my tiny .11 acres of land (which backs up to 100's of acres of undeveloped woods) this spring/summer/fall. I would prefer to plant species that are native to the area. But I really don't now where to start or where to obtain the plants and trees. Anyone point me in the right direction.

Med, give me a call! I can email a list that we have been working on, and recommend some suppliers.

Medford Piney

Explorer
Feb 25, 2008
Medford
No, I am a licensed professional planner and licensed land surveyor.
Our firm performs land use planning, engineering and surveying for both private and municipal clients.
I have been navigating the Comprehensive Management Plan since 1982.
Scott

Redneck, thanks for the info above....