Mutant Piney Burley Tobacco

RednekF350

Piney
Feb 20, 2004
Pestletown, N.J.
I've been growing my own Burley tobacco for about 5 or 6 years now and I make my own loose leaf chew with it.
This year, I tired a Kelly Burley variety from a guy known as The Tobacco Guy on Etsy. The germination in trays in my window sills was probably 100% and the plants were very vigorous when it came time to get them in the dirt in May.

In June, my wife asked me to yank three rose bushes out that seemed to have lost their will to live. So I distracted her and quickly snuck in 3 Kelly Burley plants in their place. I have a dedicated tobacco garden with 36 plants so this was just for fun. I tilled in some 10-10-10 and planted them. In mid-July I whacked them with my favorite side dress, Osmocote, which is a slow release 14-14-14.

About a week ago, one of the plants hit 11 feet to the top of the flowers and leaves are the size of elephant ears! The hummingbirds are having a ball gathering nectar. The other two plants are around 8 feet now and are leveling off. I really can't explain the growth explosion because I assumed I was dealing with some tired soil where the rose bushes had been for years.. My tobacco garden plants are at a normal 5 feet +/-.

Tobacco gets a bad rap. It really is an amazing plant. My chew is a delicious mix of Burley tobacco saturated with a reduced-down apple juice, backstrap molasses and Buffalo Trace Bourbon. If you don't like that, I can't help you. :)
IMG_6987.JPG
IMG_7143.JPG

amf

Explorer
May 20, 2006
Swedesboro
Do you always use osmocote on your plants? Tobacco is a heavy feeder, but thats some hot stuff. I've always liked the plants. There was a farmer some years back outside Hancocks Bridge in Salem County who grew a field of it.