Warning: Limit Intake Of N.J. Squirrel Meat

omega

Explorer
Hmmm guess I should have saved that one I scopped out of the pool. nah, better to have tossed it. LOL

I went to college with a Tom Slater, we both worked for the college paper, he was a real soccer nut, wonder if its the same guy.

Bobbleton

Explorer
Mar 12, 2004
NJ
thanks for posting this, I was just about to chow down on a squirrel sandwich when I read this. Whew....dodged a bullet!

Jeff

Well I was too late reading this. My dinner plans are ruined - I have my masterful Squirrel à l'Orange all prepped for tonight. Guess its back to possum wellington . . .

Badfish740

Explorer
Feb 19, 2005
Copperhead Road
It's actually kind of a shame. We can't eat shellfish from the meadowlands because they're full of PCBs, and now we can't eat squirrels from the Ramapo Mountains because they're full of lead! At least Ford is atoning for its sins. A guy I used to work with who was a Ramapo Mountain Indian said that when he was a kid they used to find the multicolored paint sludge in the woods gathered in low lying areas where it had leached into the ground water and oozed up out of the mine shafts it was dumped into. Kids being kids they'd pick it up and throw it at each other-now a lot of them have cancer...

In any event, if you're going to cook up some good 'ol Piney stew, you'd best use squirrels from the Pines! Funny though, in my office people were looking at the front page of the Trentonian (or Trashtonian as I like to call it) which had a picture of a squirrel superimposed on a background of bright yellow barrels with the "radioactive" symbol. I explained the whole story to them having heard it firsthand. When I mentioned that my grandmother makes a delicious squirrel stew it raised more than a few eyebrows!

grendel

Explorer
Feb 24, 2006
Fredericksburg VA