Pinelands Jetport Research Project

HobermanR

Jan 31, 2017
Newark, NJ
Hello everyone,

I am a graduate student in the history department at Rutgers - Newark, working on a journal article and thesis project on the proposed Pinelands Jetport project from the 1960s. Specifically, I am looking to write about how local residents of the Pine Barrens responded to the Jetport. I am currently conducting my primary research gathering for this project. These forums have been a valuable resource as I've thought about my research and I wanted to reach out to the community to see if anyone was interested in contributing to this work.

I am looking for any primary sources that might shed some light on the different ways in which people in the area viewed the Jetport, including diary entries, local newspaper stories, personal letters, personal memories, records of participation in planning and zoning board meetings, and any other sources that might reveal something about the response of local individuals and communities. I am also hoping to conduct oral interviews, in person or by phone, with people who were involved in the proposal, either in opposition or support. If anyone thinks that they have access to any of these sorts of sources, or knows of somehow who might, it would be immeasurably helpful to my project. I would also be incredibly grateful for any suggestions on people or institutions I should contact.

I've spent most of my life very near the Pine Barrens and have loved them since I was a child. There has been very little historical research on the Jetport and even less that focuses on local communities. I hope that I can provide something that the members of this forum might find interesting and new. Thank you very much for any help you can provide and feel free to contact in this thread, on my forum profile, or by email and robhoberman@gmail.com.

Robert Hoberman

Teegate

Administrator
Site Administrator
Sep 17, 2002