New Member, wants to say Hi and share some recent travels.

vivalamexico

Sep 13, 2004
Hi folks!
My name is Alex I live in medford. Ive been outdoorsy all my life growing up in the woods around the brandywine. Ive lived in medfrod for about 12 years now and I am just getting into exploring the vast mysteries of the pinelands. Me and a few other cohorts took a trip on the weekend of Sept 10. We traveled to Atsion to have a look at that abandoned and boarded up building at the beginning quaker bridge road. We got there around 2:30 or so in the AM armed with a maglite, a mining helmet, and a video camera. One of the plywood boards used to board the windows had been previously dislodged, probably from drunken idiots who would rather destroy the place then look at it with any real merit. We climbed inside and I got video of the entire building and even climed an old closet/amoire thing to get video of the attic. Most spooky in there, and the stars were out in full effect shining through the holes in the roof. From there we went to Apple pie hill, the skies were so clear I got video of atlantic city from the tower in pitch blackness! Finally we headed to Caranza memorial in the hunt for some of the ruins out that way. At this time it was about 3:15 in the AM, we found Caranza memorial and then decided to walk the dirt road into the pines directly across the street from the memorial. We noticed several things here, the lack of underbrush being most apparent. The entire floor is moss, very spongy moss indeed. Then we noticed a majority of the trees in the area had their branches broken off at the trunk from floor level to about 8 feet up. 3 inch thick branches just snapped off, strange. There were strange drag marks in the moss too, and spookiest of all it was dead silent. No sound at all, no crickets, no wind, no nothing. I know a lot of you have been out to see the emorial, but go at night sometime and just hold your breath and stand there, a lot of people Ive talked to s