All I can say is WOW

njvike

Explorer
Jul 18, 2003
Sparta, NJ
home.earthlink.net
Newbie here.

I can hardly believe there are others that share the same interest I have in the Pine Barrens :lol:

This, by far, is the best site I've seen on the net regarding the Pines.

I hope to meet many of you and hopefully, I can join you in your excursions to some of the towns I've only been able to read about. I still can't find most of them and am a little jealous that you folks were able to :wink:

So, had did you folks get interested in this subject? I owe it all to Beck. I have read every one of his books except the one about Northern NJ, which is where I'm from. You see, there's nothing to discover up here except in my parts of the woods in Sussex County and even then, I don't think our history compares to Southern NJ.

Regards,

Ken (who thinks he lived in the pine barrens in a past life)

B

BarryC

Hey Ken!
I just got notification that you joined my group. Thanks for joining. Glad you share an interest in the Pine Barrens.
Mine started with Beck. But I've always liked to go out in the woods. When we moved here from North Jersey (western Morris County) in 1985, I started exploring right away. I can't remember when I got Beck's books, but once I read them I had to go find the places he talked about. There are still plenty of places I've never been to, and plenty of places I've looked for but couldn't find.
When you get the chance, check out the links section and photo section in my Yahoo group and see what there is to see. If you have any links to add, feel free. New ones turn up once in a while.
Take care,
Barry

Ben Ruset

Administrator
Site Administrator
Oct 12, 2004
Monmouth County
www.benruset.com
Mine started with Beck as well. I also have not read "Tales and Towns of Northern New Jersey" although North Jersey does play an important part in the history of the state - even for South Jersey.