South Jersey Industrial History

Hey all-

Long time lurker here. I am a graduate student at Drexel University in Philadelphia, working on a degree in Science, Technology and Society. It is, in essence, a degree in the history of science and technology. I have been tossing around a few ideas in my head about how I can incorporate my interest for the Pinelands in to a paper I will be writing that may form the basis of a master's thesis in the future.

The thought I have had is that I would like to explore the transitions between industries in the Pinelands. From glass manufacturing, to iron ore, logging and the cranberry industry. My interest is in the outside influences that necessitated the move from each industry to the next. Further, I think an examination of how factory/furnace towns morphed as the particular industry swelled and contracted would be a worthwhile avenue to investigate.

Basically, I am wondering a couple of things. First, does anyone know of any articles written that would be a must-read for this type of endeavor? Second, any comments on the overall idea would be greatly appreciated.

I am in the preliminary research stage, but will surely keep everyone posted with my findings and what direction I ultimately end up heading in.

Thanks for your time!

(P.S. I posted this in general because I didn't really know where else it might fit, slag heap? ;))

Teegate

Administrator
Site Administrator
Sep 17, 2002
Hey all-

. First, does anyone know of any articles written that would be a must-read for this type of endeavor?