Would like to observe spiders of the Pine Barrens at night

njspiders

Aug 18, 2010
Hello!

This is my first post here at the forums, and I would appreciate any information you guys can provide.

I'm an amateur arachnid enthusiast and general lover of nature from Burlington County near Philly, and have put off exploration of the pines for far too long. I spent a couple hours at Franklin Parker Preserve today in search of large spiders in their burrows but didn't have much luck. I had to cut the trip short due to prior plans, but plan on returning soon.

What I would like is some advice on some accessible areas to walk around at night with a headlamp to observe large wolf spiders. The biggest issue for me is not necessarily where exactly to go, but good places to park in order to access wooded areas that aren't private. Today I went via 532 off 206 south and used the Chatsworth Lake entrance. I would be comfortable walking around at night in the preserve, but I'm not sure that it would be okay to be parked at the entrance after dark. Really, any sandy soil and pine barren area would interest me, but again, I don't know if it's okay to just park on the side of the road wherever I please.

I plan on checking out Wharton soon, but that presents the same dilemma to me. Although I haven't been there, I presume there are some parking areas and fear they are the type that are gated and locked after dark. The thing is, after a few daytime trips I will begin to get familiar with various areas and find my own spots, but I would like to go somewhere at night before that time, as daytime observation can be a crap shoot. Walking around at night with a headlamp looking for eye reflections is a lot of fun, and many spiders are out and about looking for a meal or a mate.

I would truly appreciate any help!

Thanks!
Chris

woodjin

Piney
Nov 8, 2004
Near Mt. Misery