Old Bridge Pine Barrens?

• Thread starter reginacardone@comcast.net
  • Start date
R

reginacardone@comcast.net

I need some help figuring out what parks, preserves, or trails there is near Old Bridge. Its not a long trip from the city and I see there are some woods near "Water Works" including a beautiful lake there known as tennant pond, this is on the west side of route 9, then there is one further south off route 18. This is much closer than I thought, I figured I'd have to go further south. But according to the maps at live.local there is plenty of pines in Old Bridge. I just want to make sure I am going to public property.

GermanG

Piney
Apr 2, 2005
Little Egg Harbor
When I was a student in New Brunswick we went on several local field trips to see pine barrens vegetation. Unfortunately I can't for the life of me remember all the sites we visited, considering that is was almost 30 years ago. I do remember going to Jamesburg Park, which was partly in East Brunswick. Many people are surprised at how far north fingers and isolated pockets of pine barrens can be found in the state. There's not a simple and convenient line you can draw delineating the barrens and it certainly doesn't follow the boundaries of the Pinelands National Reserve.

AJ1957

Scout
Apr 18, 2008
FWIW I talked to a buddy of mine from the area. He said it's gated and posted private property. The area in question may be a little more accessible toward Rt 18. You could try entering from Rt 516 to see how far north you can venture.

whitingrider

Explorer
Jun 28, 2007
Whiting