Hello - journalist looking for your craziest (or just best) Pine Barrens stories here!

Isaiah Thompson

Jun 1, 2011
Hello all,

My name is Isaiah Thompson and I'm a reporter and editor for the Philadelphia City Paper. I joined the forum last week in anticipation of an extremely sudden (another story fell through) trip to Wharton to more-or-less hike the Batona, hoping partly to contact folks who know the Barrens well and would like to share a few anecdotes or pieces of info/history (and anticipating staying interested outside of work).

Unfortunately, I missed a hike with one of the moderators, but did manage to have a great trip anyway.

I'm on deadline for tomorrow (Tues, June 7) morning , but wanted to put out a *quick* call for the weirdest, most interesting, and surprising stories you all might have from your adventures in the Barrens. I'll be writing all day and all night and can be reached by cell phone.

I probably shouldn't post the number here, but please feel free to drop an email at isaiah dot thompson at gmail.com and I'll send you my cell number or call you back. Alternately (and especially if don't want your name out there) I suppose you could just reply to this thread.

The article, by the way, will be a lighthearted, appreciative, and somewhat bumbling romp by yours truly through Wharton Forest.

Thanks for any help, and I hope to continue reading and maybe even posting as a fan of the Barrens myself. - Isaiah

manumuskin

Piney
Jul 20, 2003
millville nj
www.youtube.com
I have quite a few stories of adventures an misadventures.I'd say my best barrens story is totally unprintable,my pine barrens brethren would appreciate it no doubt and I've never told it to them but I fear it would offend the more sensitive folks in print or orally.
I still have some funny yellowjacket stories,even some humorous stone hunting stories and of course a couple lost stories.I have never been actually lost perse,but I have been misplaced temporarily a few times.
Al