Ghost Stories of the Pines

Windsor

Scout
Aug 11, 2005
Somerdale
opq said:
What about the Atco Ghost at the end of Burnt Mill?

There's always dorks looking for that one on any given Fri/Sat night.

I was one of those dorks in the summer of 1992. At the time I was driving a 1969 Mustang Mach 1 and was fresh out of high school. I had heard of the Atco ghost by some friends that I worked with. My friend and I were in the front two seats. Another friend and his girlfriend were in the back seat. Back then the pavement did a dead end, forming sort of a cul de sac. Written on the asphalt there were pentagrams, 666, etc... We even saw a bright red light far back in the woods. Never the less, this is what we did:

I had heard two stories. One being a drunken driver and the other being drag racers. So, like I had heard, I drove down the road, swerving like I was a drunk driver. Once we got to the end of the road, I turned the car around, flashed the lights three times and shut off the engine. The two in the back were goofing around and not really looking. However, my friend and I slowly saw a small figure form under that street light. Honest to God, it looked like a small boy, dribbling a ball. There was not enough detail to decipher a face, but it was definitely a figure on two legs. We were both 'deer in headlights' over this. The figure was dribbling a ball and walking, yet it never got any closer to us.

I can't say that we were scared, but we were incredibly uncomfortable. I tried to start the Mustang. Like in a horror movie, it wouldn't start. I realized I had my foot on the gas the whole time, effectively flooding the carburetor. After repeated tries, the Mustang fired and we were out of there.

As we passed, I looked for reflective materials that could have formed an illusion. All I found was a galvanized cyclone fence post, definitely not reflective.