Digital SLR Questions

RednekF350

Piney
Feb 20, 2004
Pestletown, N.J.
For a long time I have been threatening to make the leap from my Canon SX120 point and shoot to a digital SLR. I have been generally happy with the Canon and love the fact that it fits in a shirt pocket but I really want better zoom capabilities for waterfowl and other wildlife photos. I have a lot of film SLR experience beginning when I was in my teens using an Exacta SLR with a Zeiss lens that took excellent photographs.

Best Buy currently has a Nikon D3200 with two lenses on sale for $529, regularly $779.
It comes with a 18-55mm and a 55-200mm lens.

First question, is the Nikon with those 2 lenses a decent setup and price ?
Second, is the 55-200mm a good lens for zooming on ducks at distances of 100 yards +/- ?
I realize that the lens is the most important part of the setup.
$600 +/- is my current budget for now.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Scott

fierodoug

Explorer
Jul 12, 2010
Browns Mills
Buying used DSLR equipment is really the way to go as you can get much better bang for your buck. All my equipment was bought either refurbished or used(ebay).
The Nikon D3200 is a fine entry level camera, but with your previous film SLR experience you are gonna hate very quickly diving into the menu system of that camera to change a little setting that on the higher end camera can be done with a switch or knob without ever removing your eye from the eyepiece.
The 18-55 lens is a cheap piece of plastic lens that you will outgrow quickly.
200mm is to short of a lens for almost any wildlife other than large mammals. For ducks and birds you need at least 300. I'm currently shooting at 420mm for ducks, and wish i had more.
I am a Nikon shooter and my suggestion would a used Nikon D7000 ($400-450, refurbished from Nikon have dropped to $499)
A used Nikon 55-300VR lens can be had for under $175 (I actually have one of these I need to get rid of so I can help you with this one)