South Jersey

bobpbx

Piney
Staff member
Oct 25, 2002
Pines; Bamber area
This is an interesting article. Read the "talk" comments too.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_Jersey

Those who wrote the article and the two talking points have a deep misunderstanding of Ocean County places, and what it would mean to leave them out.

If you go by their boundary, the following are actually in North Jersey:

The Eastern Pine Plains
Forked River Mountains
Part of White's Bog
Stafford Forge
Wells Mills
Double Trouble
Barnegat

Ocean County in total should have been left in. Period.

Teegate

Administrator
Site Administrator
Sep 17, 2002
I totally consider Ocean County as SJ. Then again it is Wikipedia so what can we expect?

TurboDan

Aug 11, 2012
Surf City, NJ
I'm a news editor and occasionally cover the state Marine Fisheries Council meetings that are held in Galloway. I usually hang around after the meeting to talk fishing with some of the regulars, who are all from Atlantic and Cape May counties. When they ask where I fish and I mention Barnegat Bay or Island Beach State Park, the response is always, "Oh, up in North Jersey." I've lived in either northern Ocean (Brick) or southern Ocean (LBI) my entire life and always thought I lived in South Jersey.

I once asked a guy from Cape May where he thinks North Jersey begins. His response: "Once you get north of the canal, you're in North Jersey." :D

pineywoman

Explorer
Aug 24, 2012
Btw., I always thought it was... Anything north of Trenton is "north" and "south" is south... However, ocean county for me has always been referred to as "south jersey"

dragoncjo

Piney
Aug 12, 2005
camden county
Personally I don't consider parts of ocean as south jersey (brick, toms, seaside), but it is more of the cultural differences with those areas versus topography, forest type, ecology. If there wasn't people there I would consider them south jersey.

manumuskin

Piney
Jul 20, 2003
millville nj
www.youtube.com