Bog Iron

Apr 6, 2004
Galloway
"Iron made from bog ore will often contain residual silicates, which can form a glassy coating that grants some resistance to rusting."

Jerseyman and Spung-Man,

Be this a true statement? I wouldn't expect this to be true, based upon what I've seen. But I ain't no chemist.

GermanG

Piney
Apr 2, 2005
Little Egg Harbor
I've heard many statements to that effect in the past myself, but without the explanation you included as a reason why. It seems to make sense and I'd be curious to get a more definitive explanation myself.

Spung-Man

Explorer
Jan 5, 2009
Richland, NJ
loki.stockton.edu
Gabe,

You always ask good questions! Why is bog iron so rust resistant? I’m no expert at geochemistry but here’s a possible explanation. It may have more to do with bog iron’s biological formation then with silicate coatings. It's already been rusted once before. Some power line poles are super rusted, armoring them from further corrosion. If memory serves me, at the microscale at least, silica can actually be a rust catalyst (hence the red grain coatings of Bridgeton sands). I’m short on time, so suggest you read these old posts for details:

Notes on bog iron genesis:
Cedar water, iron fixation, and its potability:

According to Hall (1899: 25, The Daily Union History of Atlantic City and County), "Bog iron, formed by chemical action, is without the slag or rock which characterizes the ore from the mines, and is of a superior quality." This suggests that bog iron contained less and not more mineral residuals than mined ores. I hope this helps.

It was also interesting that Hall (1899: 25, Sketch of Old Weymouth) also noted that "the streams and swamps carried very much more water than since the iron horse came snorting through the land." Huh, I don't know how I missed that passage.

Cheers,
S-M

Apr 6, 2004
Galloway
Spung-Man said: