Welcome to lidar.boydsmaps.com!

Boyd

Administrator
Staff member
Site Administrator
Jul 31, 2004
Ben's Branch, Stephen Creek
The lights are still on, so the new tiles are now online. :) Here's an updated coverage map - total of 175 tiles so far, which means 700 individual maps - and I'm only getting started! This is as far East as I can go, since no data is available for Ocean County.

coverage.jpg

Here's a view of South Park
https://lidar.boydsmaps.com/#x099y039/shader/-805/428/-277/-419/-3/-101/-200/250/-900/50/2.5/3d

southPark.jpg

Chatsworth Lake
https://lidar.boydsmaps.com/#x103y039/shader/0/1368/0/0/0/0/941/294/157/55/2.5/2d

lake-boyd.jpg

Hard to believe this is even the same place. ;)
https://maps.njpinebarrens.com/#lat=39.822818&lng=-74.549407&z=16&type=lidar&gpx=

lake-njpb.jpg

Last edited:

bobpbx

Piney
Staff member
Oct 25, 2002
Pines; Bamber area
I never realized there was a gun range behind the Bordentown Gun club. And it's neat that the trail runs from there to Apple Pie hill and it looks like a mountain range in that view.

Reactions: Boyd

Boyd

Administrator
Staff member
Site Administrator
Jul 31, 2004

bobpbx

Piney
Staff member
Oct 25, 2002
Pines; Bamber area
What do you think is up with that cross-hatch pattern? Kind of like somebody laid a big screen over the land in places and pressed it down. Is that digital generation going on when the lidar is confused? Look at Stormy Hill in 2D mode. It's more pronounced.

Boyd

Administrator
Staff member
Site Administrator
Jul 31, 2004
Yeah, it's an artifact of some kind, you can see it in many places. I don't think it was "confused", we are just seeing the individual pixels.

Boyd

Administrator
Staff member
Site Administrator
Jul 31, 2004
The basemap opens in one or two seconds on all my computers, I have 150mbit FIOS

https://lidar.boydsmaps.com

Opening a topo is also very fast for me (the topo map doesn't have a 3d surface).