A Great Day In The Pines

Teegate

Administrator
Site Administrator
Sep 17, 2002
All,

We went again to check on the Lady Slippers, and it seems like some of the plants are never going to mature. While looking them over a Tiger Beetle suddenly appeared next to me. They are really shy.

IMG_1798.JPG

IMG_1799.JPG

IMG_1802.JPG

From there we headed over to look at a sedge Bob had asked me to check on, and while there we noticed that the Turkey Beard is starting to flower.

IMG_1811.JPG

IMG_1816.JPG

Then to meet up with Bob and Buddy for a day of plant searching and adventure. At our first stop deep in a cedar swamp, we were surprised to find Arethusa in full bloom and we counted almost 50 of them. A wonderful find this early Bob would say. I am still learning how to take plant photo’s for sure.

IMG_1825.JPG

IMG_1829.JPG

IMG_1837.JPG

IMG_1858.JPG

Taking a break at the waterfall. A really nice place!

IMG_1843.JPG

A five star flower. I still have not figured out why some of the photo’s just don’t look clear. In any event, you can see that the center portion is what attracts the various other bugs to it, and when they get there they touch the outer portion and send the pollen on it's way. I guess you can see that I know all of the technical terms :bang:

IMG_1881a.jpg

Buddy ate one of them, and a ton of grass, so don’t click on this link if you would prefer not to see the result of that.

http://teegate.njpinebarrens.com/05232009/IMG_1886.JPG

Bob, the name you gave me for this seems to be non existent.

IMG_1888.JPG

Jessica discovered hundreds of tadpoles in a puddle on a road. There was a frog there that kept going back in the puddle when we would leave.

IMG_1890.JPG

Next, off to Webb’s Mill Bog. It is flooded as you have been reading on this site.

IMG_1891.JPG