Trashy pines

imkms

Explorer
Feb 18, 2008
SJ and SW FL
I have been exploring the pinelands for well over 30 years, on foot, canoe, motorcycle and 4x4 and have been up and down most of the dirt roads hundreds of times. During many of these trips I often pick up much of the trash (mostly bottles and cans) left behind by ignorant people. Over the last few years, due to the increased trashing that occurs, I have been making trips for the sole purpose of clearing areas/dirt-roads of trash. In an hour or two I can easily pick up over 200 hundred bottles and cans. While I get a lot of satisfaction with the results, I do know that it will be trashed again, so for all who enjoy the peace and solitude that the pinelands provides please take the time to remove some of the trash that you will find when in the woods. You will be happy that you did.

Kevin

imkms

Explorer
Feb 18, 2008
SJ and SW FL
Glad to be a member of the site. The pines is an absolute treasure, especially considering it's location in the most dense state in the US, and I just don't understand why people would trash it like they do. I know most users of this forum would not add to the trash left behind by other uncaring idiots, but if everyone who went out to the woods picked up a trash bag or two worth of trash (wouldn't take long) it would go a long way towards keeping it what we like most about it. Clean, wild and unspoiled.

Oct 25, 2006
Glad to be a member of the site. The pines is an absolute treasure, especially considering it's location in the most dense state in the US, and I just don't understand why people would trash it like they do. I know most users of this forum would not add to the trash left behind by other uncaring idiots, but if everyone who went out to the woods picked up a trash bag or two worth of trash (wouldn't take long) it would go a long way towards keeping it what we like most about it. Clean, wild and unspoiled.