Yo!

Teegate

Administrator
Site Administrator
Sep 17, 2002
Tomaré un cheesesteak sin cebollas fritas.

ebsi2001

Explorer
May 2, 2006
southern NJ
Roadkill on a Bun

Almost five decades ago, as a young undergraduate student, I used to hitch a ride to the college on some mornings with my comparative anatomy professor. He was a very colorful person, with a sharp wit and Eddie Cantor--like "pop eyes," due to Graves disease.

One morning, on our way to his 8 AM lecture, he spied a dead possum on the road. He screeched to a halt, lept out of the car --- the motor running --- and began to furiously dissect the road kill. While he was busy at work, a Florham Park policeman happened by. He stopped, sauntered over to the professor and asked him just what he thought he was doing. The professor, a somewhat diminutive fellow with a deep basso voice, straightened--up to his full height and said, "I'm just getting my breakfast, sir!" The cop turned about three various shades of green, literally ran back to his "black--and--white," and sped off in the direction of Columbia Turnpike. The professor continued his disection for a few minutes more, and then I saw him surrepitiously "pocket" something. On the way to class, neither of us spoke a word...