Help on Applegate Sawmill

Joe Kelly

Oct 29, 2014
Has anyone done any research on the Applegate Sawmill that was on Cattus Island from 1880's time period. I am looking to find some of the early house sites that were on Cattus Island from 1700's to mid 1800's. Ive read that the Applegate Sawmill was quite large and that they also ran a Lumer boat basin. Im a disabled Iraq vet and have time on my hand to explore this area as its near by where I live. I see that there is a great area of wooded land between Cattus Island and Shelter Cove. I was also hoping on finding some of the Pennsylvania colony salt works and barracks at Shelter Cover Park area. A lot of Rev War took place in this area. Most people think that only the large Mansion site was the only occupation on Cattus Island. I have found some trash pits in the woods while hiking with my dog. Any help suggestions would be appreciated. Joe

GermanG

Piney
Apr 2, 2005
Little Egg Harbor
I used to work there, and had the same questions you have. I could find no remains of the Applegate Mill at the time . When the Cattus family owned the property much of it was cleared, which could have obliterated earlier historic evidence. However, the mill could have been located outside of the cleared area. Most of the area that has not already been developed in the vicinity of where the saltworks are believed to have been has been obliterated by mosquito commission work. I scoured that area as well and found nothing. My research was done with limited resources however, almost twenty five years ago. I had no internet access at the time, at work or at home, and much of the information out there now wasn't online at the time anyway. This is a job for someone with a good collection of maps and other resources, like Guy or Jerseyman. :)

46er

Piney
Mar 24, 2004
Coastal NJ