Apple opposes Judge's order to unlock shooter's phone

Jon Holcombe

Explorer
Dec 1, 2015
Medford
I think your Apple ID must be entered somewhere on your Mac in order for those alerts to appear. I kept my primary Mac on 10.8 because I see no advantage to upgrading and use a lot of old software that would just break.

That is quite a system for someone who "is not a techie"… ;)
Unfortunately, as a graphic designer I have to stay current with OS X and Creative Cloud. Regarding the theme of this thread, it will be interesting to see if the Apple lawyers can make their argument citing the 1st and 5th amendment stick. I'm guessing not.

Teegate

Administrator
Site Administrator
Sep 17, 2002
Yes it does work with El Capitan. I just don't want to spend the $80 for it when the version I have works perfectly fine.

Reactions: Boyd

Boyd

Administrator
Staff member
Site Administrator
Jul 31, 2004
Ben's Branch, Stephen Creek
My problem is worse, it would cost more like $5000 to upgrade all my old software, and since I'm now retired and only doing occasional projects, it just wouldn't be worth it.

In spite of security and data integrity concerns, I'm really happy with digital. Just now working on a website with lots of my old designs and have been accessing files going back to 1981. Started working seriously with 3d modelling in 1996. OTOH, physical media is a big problem. Lots of the old paper files, rolls of plans, watercolors, photos and negatives are either damaged or just gone. :(

Teegate

Administrator
Site Administrator
Sep 17, 2002
If you are still interested in this debate I found this very interesting and informative. It is 18 minutes long and rated PG so be prepared for that.

Reactions: Ben Ruset

bobpbx

Piney
Staff member
Oct 25, 2002
Pines; Bamber area
Guy, entertaining.

From the video: "there is no easy side to be on in this case". That is a fact.

In this particular case, where a terrorist killed many people, I'm on the side of law enforcement.